Destination: Antarctica – Packing List

Below is a list of everything I brought to Antarctica. I tried to include links for most things so there was a visual and I included comments on what I liked or might have done differently. For context, we had several days of buffer in Buenos Aires and Ushuaia so I also noted where I used something only there and not on the ship / in Antarctica. Even so, both Justin and I did carry-on only. I hope this helps as you plan your own packing list for The White Continent!

Our ship was Oceanwide’s Hondius. We took the 12-night Basecamp excursion, which afforded us 7 full days on the peninsula and all activities included. We were lucky enough to experience various weather from bright sun and no wind, to foggy, snowing and chilly. As such, I think we used more of our gear than others that may not have experienced such different weather. Indeed, our Expedition Leader, Pippa, noted after our 3rd beautiful and sunny day that some excursions don’t get any days like that, but alas you must pay for those beautiful days, so the remaining four days were a mix of windy, snowy, foggy, and cold. Temperatures were generally in the -2 to 0 degrees Celsius, but even a couple degrees makes a big difference depending on the rest of the weather.

Disclosure: I may earn money on any purchase made via the links on this website at no cost to you. I really appreciate you shopping through my links! I don’t make much on this little blog, but it’s nice to get a fun surprise every once in a while, so thank you! 🙂

Clothing and Shoes

4 wool t-shirts Woolx Addie Short Sleeve CrewI wear these shirts all the time anyway so it was easy to include them here. I liked being able to mix-and-match with the different colors I brought.

Side note – if you want to try Woolx, use my referral link for $20 off a $50+ purchase (I’ll get $20 too and my closet loves you for it 😉 ).
2 wool base layer long sleeve tops Woolx Hannah Long Sleeve TopI tried wool shirts from L.L. Bean as well and they were a little scratchy. The Hannah tops from Woolx are very soft and warm.
Fleece jacketColumbia Women’s PFG Harborside™ II Full Zip Fleece Jacket (out of stock, but pretty lightweight)I wore this out on excursions a few times, but generally preferred the wool and puffy jacket layers. This was good for the colder days though.
Light sweatshirt Woolx Callie HoodieI wore this a LOT. It was easy to layer up with the puffy jacket or vest for around the ship if it was a little cooler. I even wore it with several other items when we went out on a particularly cold day. I was glad it was wool so it never stunk.
Puffy jacket Patagonia Nano Puff JacketThis puffy jacket is on the lightweight side, but I love how packable it is and it’s easy to layer as needed.
Puffy vest Columbia – kind of like this (but I’ve had mine forever)I wore this all the time. It wasn’t as hot onboard as many people stated in other reviews. This probably varies ship to ship depending on who’s manning the thermostat, but this vest was quite handy and I’m glad I threw it in at the last minute (actually, I had to wear it on the plane as there was no room in the carry-on suitcase lol).
Waterproof outer jacket Outdoor research Women’s Aspire II GORE-TEX® JacketGet a size larger than normal to make sure you can layer. This is only needed if your ship doesn’t provide a jacket for you so check with them first.
2 wool base layer leggings Woolx Merino Flex™ McKennaI bought these before they came out with petite sizes, so they did bunch up a little at the ankle for me (I’m 5’4″ with a 27″ inseam), but overall they kept me warm. They are soft and comfortable and they have pockets! I’m sure I could have brought just one pair though.

These are also the lightest weight leggings Woolx has. The Stella and Piper are warmer, so if you get cold easily, I’d suggest getting one of those instead.
2 mid layer joggersWoolx Merino Flex™ Lola Jogger I could have brought just one pair of these as well. They are lighter weight and easy to layer. Good for around the ship and layered for excursions.
Wool sweatpantsWoolx Parker SweatpantsI wore these when it was really cold out over my base layer and under the rain pants.
Lightweight pajama pantsWomen’s Casual Long Pajama Lounge PantsThese were nice to have for sleeping since they were light and wouldn’t get too hot, especially in BA, but honestly I could have just worn my leggings or joggers to bed instead.
Thin hiking pants LL Bean Women’s Vista Trekking PantsI wore these every day in Buenos Aires. I didn’t end up wearing them on the cruise, but easily could have with a pair of leggings underneath. But why wear pants when you can just wear the leggings or joggers? 🙂
Non-insulated waterproof pants Columbia Women’s Storm Surge™ Rain Pants These were perfect. I’m very glad I didn’t pack my snow pants as they would have been too hot for most days, and the days it was colder I could fit multiple layers under the rain pants.

Many people did have snow pants though, so if you get cold really easily it may be worth it for you. Just remember that when you’re on land, you may have to hike up hills and snow pants could be too warm.
Bathing suit Bring a suit if you want to (or MIGHT want to) do the polar plunge. I did it but I don’t think I would do it again – my toes were already a little cold from being out in the zodiac and not moving for a couple hours so stepping into the frigid waters was painful.
3 pair wool socks Smartwool Performance Hike Full Cushion Crew Socks – Women’s

REI Co-op Merino Wool Expedition Hiking Crew Socks
I rotated through all 3 pairs, but only once or twice did I double up on them – I think when we went camping (which was unnecessary) and maybe for the zodiac ride where it was snowing.
2 pair liner socks Browning Unisex Liner Socks

Icebreaker Women’s Hike Liner Ultralight Cushion Merino Wool Crew Sock
I preferred the Icebreaker ones.
Wool beanieWoolx Baylor BeanieI wore this most days. It is comfortable and warm, and also looks more stylish than the other hat I brought.
Hat with brimSEALSKINZ Waterproof Extreme Cold Weather HatI preferred the beanie but both worked well. Could have just brought one though. The brim on this was nice for sunny days, but not required.
2 pair waterproof gloves Burton GORE-TEX 3-in-1 Mittens – Women’sThe Burton mittens were really great for pulling off and putting back on in between taking photos. They came with inner liner gloves, but I used different ones.

I also brought an older pair of gloves that I only tried to wear once and I didn’t like them because I couldn’t take them off quickly to use my camera phone. I ended up leaving them there.
1 pair fleece glovesFleece Gloves (similar to these)These were nice when out on the deck as it can get very windy!
2 pair liner glovesALASKA BEAR – Natural Silk Liner Gloves UnisexI really liked the way the Alaska Bear gloves felt, but I ended up never wearing them, because they didn’t have touchscreen fingers. If you don’t need that then I would absolutely recommend them.

I had another pair of liner gloves kind of like these with the touchscreen fingertips. I used these exclusively, but with one modification – I used a seam ripper to cut the front half of the touchscreen tips so I could flip them off my fingertips to take photos with my phone, and then flip them back to put my hands back in my mittens (photo below). Since I didn’t want to use the other liner gloves without touchscreen fingers, if these got wet I would put them on the towel heater to dry or used the hairdryer. I’d do this with the Burton mittens as well.
Modified liner gloves
Wool gloves M MCGUIRE GEAR US Men’s Wool Nylon Blend GlovesThese were Justin’s and I used them kayaking per his recommendation, but probably not necessary (could have just worn my other liner gloves). I wore the Burton mittens over top.
Wool convertible glovesRefrigiWear Thinsulate Insulated Ragg Wool Convertible Mitten Fingerless GlovesThis is what Justin used exclusively and in hindsight probably would have been just fine for me as well.
Wool buff Buff Multifunctional Neckwear Lightweight Merino WoolVery glad I had this on the zodiac cruises. Some rides were quite chilly, especially the time it was snowing and we were going pretty fast on our way back to the ship!
Fleece neck gaiterColumbia Fleece GaiterThis is one thing I bought but didn’t bring and really wished I had. Space in the suitcase was getting tight so I opted to only take the wool buff, but this would have been really nice on the few days where it was colder / snowing and we were riding in the zodiacs for a couple hours.
Bra I wore a regular bra on sea days and days in Buenos Aires when it wasn’t too hot so I wouldn’t sweat in it.
Sports bra I wore this on some landings, but could have just worn the wool bra the whole time.
Wool bra Woolx Luna BraletteI wore this on landings, airport travel days, and in Buenos Aires when it was hot because I didn’t have to worry about sweat smell and it was easy to wash.
21 pairs of underwearJustin’s – Icebreaker Merino Men’s BoxersI didn’t want to send underwear to the laundry and since they’re cotton I figured they’d take too long to dry if I washed them in the sink. Justin brought two pairs of cotton and five pairs of wool underwear and washed them in the sink.
2 pair cotton ankle socks Womens Ankle Socks (similar to these)I wore ankle socks on warmer days on the ship when wool socks were unnecessary and in Buenos Aires when it was cooler.
Flip flops KIIU Sandals I wore flip flops in Buenos Aires on the way back, but it was actually too cold to wear them the first two days we were there. I love these sandals though!
Slipper shoes Teva ReEmber Slip-OnsThese were enough of a sneaker to wear in Buenos Aires and Ushuaia (no major hiking) without hurting my feet, and enough of a slipper on the ship. They slip on easily and you can wear as a full shoe or as a slipper with the heels folded down.
Insoles for muck bootsDr. Scholl’s Work All-Day Superior Comfort Insoles Not required, but nice to have. They also add another layer between your foot and the snow.

Muck boots are provided by the ship in most (if not all) cases in Antarctica. However, if you have large calves (like over 17″), you may want to bring your own. Or at a minimum, try a pair on at home with all your gear on. My calves are about 16″ and these were snug with all my gear on, but not terribly so. You put your outer waterproof pants over the top of the boots, so really all that goes inside is a base and mid-layer.

My friend has larger calves so she opted to bring her own extended calf muck boots rather than worry if the ones provided would fit. I wear a Women’s US 8.5 and the 39/40 fit great with wool socks and liners. It was a slightly tight fit when I wore two pairs of wool socks for camping (which in hindsight probably wasn’t necessary), but overall they are somewhat forgiving at the top.

Tech

Surface LaptopWe used this to backup photos. And Justin used it to play computer games when he was sick, lol.
Phone I used my Google Pixel 6 Pro for my photos almost exclusively. Justin used his (same) phone and the camera equally.
Sony CameraSony a6000We’ve had this camera for a while, but it still takes decent photos.
Camera lensSigma 18-50mmWe only brought this one lens since it was pretty versatile.
Camera batteriesExtra batteriesWe brought 3 batteries, but probably could have been fine with just 2.
2 SD cardsPNY 128GB Memory Card 2-PackSince most of the photos were taken on my phone, we actually only needed one of the SD cards.
USB stick The guides and other passengers took photos and shared them on the ship’s computers so we could use a USB stick or a memory card to pull them off.
Charging portCeptics International Plug Adapter KitThis bad boy comes with us on all our travels. Just remember to bring all the right adapters! I forgot the one for Argentina (Type I). Some of the plugs were the standard Euro kind, but the holes were too small for the prongs on the Euro plug adapter. Luckily all our hotel rooms had at least one plug that accepted US plugs. Whew!
Kindle I only used this on the plane but I liked having it to read books. I thought I might use it when we were going across the Drake, but there just really wasn’t enough time.
Battery bankSmall Portable ChargerI brought a small charger for my phone because some people said your battery can run out faster in the cold. I figured this was small enough to keep in my pocket without being annoying. But I never had a problem with my phone’s battery life. Sometimes I would charge it at lunch in between excursions just in case, but generally it wasn’t necessary after charging overnight and I used it for all my photos / videos. It’s important to note that it was also on airplane mode and not connected to wi-fi, so that probably saved a lot of battery too.
Fitbit I wasn’t originally going to bring my fitbit because I didn’t want to also bring the additional charger but I threw it in at the last minute. I didn’t wear it on landings though because I didn’t want the bulk around my wrist with my layers. Just personal preference.
Headlamp for camping LED HeadlampThis is only needed at the beginning and end of season when it gets dark out. I’m guessing you wouldn’t need one mid-December to mid-January at least. Otherwise, you’re likely going to be setting up camp in the dark. They took us off the ship after dinner around 8:45pm and then woke us up to go back to the ship around 4:45am.
Travel humidifier HOMDIS Mini HumidifierWe had this going almost constantly in our room. I think it helped as my skin didn’t get very dry. The Orizon water bottle we bought in Ushuaia fit.
Phone tether takyu Phone Lanyard, Universal Cell Phone LanyardI used this way more than I thought I would. I clipped it on for zodiac cruises, landings, and outside on our balcony. I’m clumsy so I didn’t want to risk my phone falling into the ocean. Or on the penguin and seal poop!
Waterproof phone caseNite Ize RunOff Waterproof Phone PouchI used this kayaking and the first time on the zodiac but it wasn’t really needed. Instead, I had the phone tether around my neck and if it got too wet on the zodiac I would just slip my phone inside my waterproof jacket and wedge it under the lifevest. This case was also just a bit cumbersome, so if you had a more compact version I think it would work better. If I’d had this one I might have kept using it.
Charging cablesIf it’s not on my list, I will forget! Charging cables for laptop, phone, camera, fitbit, humidifier, etc. And camera battery charger.

Toiletries / Meds

Scopolamine patches for seasicknessRx in the USI only used the patch for the Drake Passage but Justin used them the entire trip. Unfortunately, it wasn’t quite enough for him on the Drake coming back. Indeed even I got a little nauseous with 6m waves, though the guides claimed that was quite moderate!

The onboard doctor had these for sale so if you can’t get them in your country you may be able to get them onboard. Just note they’re not free on board.
Cough drops Ricola Throat DropsI used these when the scopolamine patch made my throat reallllllly dry. Also, these were handy when Justin got sick. I didn’t realize it was a 2-pack when I bought it, but I brought both and we definitely had to break into the second bag.
DayQuil and NyQuil Vicks DayQuil and NyQuil Combo PackGreat to have on hand when Justin got sick, but there can be some unfavorable reactions if you’re wearing the scopolamine patch as well.
ZicamZicam Ultra Cold RemedyI was really prepared for someone to get a cold, lol!
BenadrylBenadryl Allergy Relief Liquid GelI suffer from allergies year-round and some places set me off worse than others, so I always travel with some benadryl in case my regular Zyrtec isn’t cutting it.
Pain medsI get a lot of headaches so I bring a litany of different pain meds depending on the situation, e.g., Tylenol PM, Excedrin Migraine, Ibuprofen, etc. I just put a few of each into a small bottle and I’ve never had a problem.
Sunscreen Sun Bum Original SPF 50 Sunscreen Face LotionWe like Sun Bum because it’s Octinoxate & Oxybenzone Free.
Leave in conditioner BioSilk Silk Therapy 17 Miracle Spray Leave-In ConditionerMy hair stylist recommended this to make sure my hair didn’t get static-y or tangle when wearing a hat.
VaselineI read somewhere that using a fat-based moisturizer in the dry Antarctic air was better, so I brought this. But I also snagged the body lotion from the hotels and used it as well. I didn’t notice a difference. However, Justin and I do both get dry nostrils sometimes, so putting a little Vaseline on a q-tip into the nostrils to keep them from drying out was helpful.
Lotion I grabbed the small lotion from the hotels in BA and Ushuaia as an alternative to the Vaseline. Side note, if your clothes get static-y, put lotion on your skin first as that will help.
Static guardStatic guard travel sprayI hate static so I brought this to use on my fleece and down jacket (never on wool). I only used it a couple times, but for me it was worth the room in the suitcase.
Vick’s Vick’s VapoStickI’ve read several accounts of needing this to put under your nose before visiting a penguin colony because they’re very stinky, especially later in the season (we went in late February). Yes, they are stinky, but it was certainly tolerable without the Vick’s. We didn’t use it. If you’re really sensitive to smells, give it a go, but most people can probably tolerate the penguin poo smell just fine.
Other basic toiletries Don’t forget your toothbrush, toothpaste, shampoo, conditioner, comb, deodorant, etc.

Other Items

Waterproof backpack BackSåk Waterproof Floating Backpack with Exterior Zippered Pocket | 25LThis backpack worked great. The only downside is the hiking poles wouldn’t fit inside with it rolled down to be waterproof, so consider a way to strap them on before you leave or plan to hold them in your hand.
Drawstring bag Similar to thisI used it the day we had to give our bags to the ship by 11:30 but couldn’t get on the boat until 4 to carry my essentials / tech items. Also, it was a backup bag in case we needed more space on the way back if we checked our roller bags (which we did).
Compression Sacks12 Travel Compression BagsThese came in VERY handy! We generally only do carry-on and we wanted this trip to be no exception. In fact, we felt it was more imperative because we didn’t want to get on the boat missing any of our gear. We even convinced our travel companions to carry on, though they used compression bags that needed a vacuum. These, on the other hand, were easy to squish all the air out and seal up. They recommend rolling them, but we just lay on the bags lol.
Goggles OutdoorMaster Ski Goggles OTG I wasn’t going to get these, but 2 weeks before we left I made the purchase and I’m glad I did. They were especially helpful on zodiacs the second half of the week when it was windy and/or snowing. These are a good inexpensive pair. We both went with a VLT of 14-15% and grey lens.
Prescription sunglassesMaui Jim Wrap SunglassesAfter my dog ate my other pair of prescription sunglasses (yes, really), I decided to get another pair for the trip. These wrapped around a bit so they were great on the sunny days and to block wind for the most part. I could also wear my goggles over them if I needed. But they were probably overkill. Don’t get me wrong, we had several sunny days, but any regular sunglasses would probably be fine.
Extra pair of prescription glasses I brought an extra pair of glasses just in case because I don’t wear contacts. Luckily I didn’t need them, but I was glad I had them.
Eyeglass holder strap Chums Adjustable Orbiter Eyeglass RetainerI ended up not using this. With my hat on I didn’t ever feel like my glasses were going to come off.
Laundry soap stripsTru Earth Laundry Detergent Sheets/Eco-StripsI brought a few strips to do laundry in the sink. I would use half a strip at a time and felt confident doing 2-3 shirts before changing the water.
Female urinal Female UrinalI didn’t use this and probably didn’t need to bring it. I got it for camping, but you’re really only camping from ~9pm – 5am and they had an emergency potty (for #1 only), so it wasn’t an issue. We were never out more than 3-4 hours for landings/zodiac cruises, so that wasn’t an issue either.
Wide Mouth Nalgene I brought this to be a pee bottle on shore if we needed it but we didn’t. I put a bunch of underwear inside it while packing so at least it wasn’t wasted space in my suitcase.
Hot hands Hot Hands Body WarmersI brought one for camping in case my feet got cold but they didn’t. The sleeping bag was plenty warm…just too small.
Travel notebook I bring a notebook on all our trips to write about our adventures so we don’t forget anything.
Chirp mini wheel Chirp Wheel Foam Roller 4″ FocusI use a yoga wheel on my back regularly and this came in handy a few times. Was it absolutely necessary? No. Was I glad I brought it? Yep. I shoved socks in the middle of it while in the suitcase.
4-5 Hydration packets Liquid I.V. Hydration Multiplier – Strawberry – Hydration Powder PacketsI found these helpful on the long plane ride from Dallas to Buenos Aires and whenever we were dehydrated. I really don’t like the taste though so I also brought some Crystal Light packets to add in to make it palatable.
Lemon packets True Lemon, Lemon Crystallized Packets, 0.9 OunceWe brought a dozen or so of these packets just in case we got sick (which Justin did). There was hot water on board, and towards the end of the trip they also put out honey so these packets helped make lemon honey hot water which is good for a sore throat.
Eye mask Slip Silk Sleep MaskI never thought I’d spend this much on a sleep mask, but I used this on the plane and loved the silk feeling! I thought it might be more prone to slipping off but it was fine. Justin used his a lot when he was sick and in bed while I was in the room too with the shades open.
Earplugs I used earplugs on the plane. If you’re sharing a cabin with people you don’t know, these may also be handy if anyone snores.
Trekking PolesWe rented these from New Headings, which partners with Oceanwide. It seems like rental companies often partner with the expedition companies, so check with yours, because our poles were delivered to our room on the ship and we returned them on the ship. Easy peasy!

We rented one pair for the both of us and that was generally enough. I think there was only one landing where we could have both used two trekking poles each.

Check out my Poshmark shop for some of the items noted above or random Woolx items as I cycle through my closet: https://poshmark.com/closet/travelbydesign

8 responses to “Destination: Antarctica – Packing List

  1. Pingback: A Few of My Favorite (Travel) Things | My Travel Guidebook·

  2. Many many thanks for sharing your comprehensive list- never knew laundry sheets existed! And goggles are a fab idea I hadn’t thought of 🙂

    You popped a link on tripdaviser in good time for me (I go in 2 x weeks time) so thank you again!

    • You’re so welcome! Glad it was helpful! Packing was one of the most stressful parts for me so I wanted to pay it forward with a detailed list. 😁

  3. Thank you so much for posting such a detailed list! I”m not going for a year but it’s nice to have the list so I can start looking. I’m a hard size to buy for so I like to start lookig well ahead of time! I was in iceland a year ago so I can use some of what I bought for that trip which is good!

    • That’s great you can reuse some things from your Iceland trip! I’ve been looking at a trip to the Arctic and am glad I won’t have to purchase much now too. Good luck finding everything you want in your size and I hope you have a fabulous time when you go!!

  4. curios you for the detailed list. Some things I had not thought about. We are going January 2025 so I have some time to “gather”.
    I’m curious what size/ brand carry on you took. What did you wear in BA touring around?

    thank you,

    Beth Allgood

    • Hi Beth,

      Great questions! My suitcase is a Wenger soft-sided international carry-on. It measures approximately 22.5″ x 14″ x 10.5″.

      For touring around BA, I wore the wool T-shirts and LL Bean hiking pants, both good at wicking sweat. On our way there it was actually unseasonably cool, so I also layered my Callie sweatshirt and Teva slip-ons. On the way back it was much warmer so I wore my flip flops and rolled the pants up. Not the most high fashion, lol, but it worked!

Leave a comment